thoughts: seven cards

I spent an obscene amount of money on greeting cards this week.  turns out so-called “hallmark holidays” require many cards.  in my case, seven.  seven cards for mother’s day.

after getting past my shock at the cash register’s total, my mind started reeling around this holiday.  I’ve always thought that being a parent, and being a mom in particular, is one of the most rewarding, yet least acknowledged jobs.  of course, I can’t speak from experience, but it seems to me that moms do a lot of things that no one thanks them for.  no one pays them for.  no one recognizes them for.

in return they hope to receive a well-adjusted, loving, caring adult 18 years later.  this after the late nights, the early mornings, the terrible twos, the toddler tantrums, the last minute school projects, the forgotten lunches, the “mom you’re so embarrassing,” the door slams, the eye rolls, the breaking curfew, and a variety of other unfortunate occurrences.  let’s face it. if this were any other job, no one would last 18 years.

of course, it’s the other moments that must make moms stick around.  the first smile, the first steps, the first day of school.  the hugs, the drawings, the macaroni necklaces.  the proud moments, from scored points in little league to high school graduation.  the “I love you, Mom,” especially when it comes from a teenager.

I admit this is all speculation.  but I find it remarkable that these women, these mothers, have the strength to be responsible for another human being.  to selflessly work day in and day out to ensure that someone else is taken care of.  to make sacrifices in the best interests of their children.  these women are amazing.

when my mom was my age, she had a toddler, me.  I keep a picture of us, from moments after my birth, in my home.  when I look at it, I can’t help but marvel at her spirit and strength.  it makes me want to take advantage of every opportunity.  to do good.  to persevere.  to make my mom proud.

surely, a card once a year is the least I can do.  and it can’t even begin to convey the gratitude and admiration I have for her.

while loathing the amount deducted from my checking account, I realized my great fortune.  seven beautiful women.  seven women who I look up to and admire.  1 mom, 1 step-mom, 4 grandmothers, and 1 great-grandmother.  7 mothers.

I owe each of them so much more than a card.  they support me and inspire me.  to her, to them, thank you.

1 Comment

Filed under thoughts

One response to “thoughts: seven cards

  1. mom

    It’s taken me a while to be able to write this without crying(okay, I’m crying a little:)You make me proud every day. Being your mom is one of the best things I’ve ever done or will ever do in my life. People ask me sometimes about how difficult it was to be so young and go through so many painful experiences, and I tell them that it wasn’t easy but I wouldn’t change it even if I knew about all the suffering because if I did, it would mean I wouldn’t have you…you have always inspired me to be better and do better because thats what I always have wanted for you. Now you amaze me because you have taken those lessons and not let anything stand in the way of your dreams. You have an incredible strength and passion for life. You teach me new things and make me want to rethink how I look at the world around me. I feel so honored to be your mom…I love you my Amanda

Leave a Reply

