thoughts: four oh five

I have an aversion to los angeles freeways.  I could probably count on 2 hands the number of times I drove on them in the 3 months I lived here last summer.  the 405 is the worst one, and it’s right in my backyard.  (yes, the 405 of OJ simpson chase fame.  also, the most congested freeway in the country at 382,000 vehicles per day (1).  which makes me feel moved to mention that I will be making an effort to eat extra healthy to counteract the effects of 382,000 fumes on my precious lungs.)  because the 405 and I are so close now, I thought I’d give it a shot today.  bad idea.  according to my maps, I entered at mile 27.96 and exited at mile 29.16.  that was all I could take.  1.2 miles.

I should mention that I love to drive.  I can identify and name almost any car I see on the road.  I’m an aggressive, defensive driver, and I tend to speed a bit.  in the 5 minutes that it took me to travel 1.2 miles on the 405 today I started to wonder, “what is my problem?  why can’t I handle this?”  all I can figure is that I have a deeply seated association between freeways and my foot on the pedal.  and fighting that urge to step on it while being forced to travel 10 miles an hour and continuously STOP on a 12 lane freeway makes my brain want to explode.

as such, I don’t think my car will be seeing speeds over 45 anytime soon.  I’ll be sticking to city streets.  in short, although the 405 and I may be very close now, we will not be friendly any time soon.

[1. http://www.timeforkids.com/TFK/teachers/wr/article/0,27972,1099514,00.html]

Leave a comment

Filed under thoughts

Leave a Reply

